She is a millennial

I am working on a self-reflective piece about the features characteristic of a millennial that I display.  Millennials are not only defined by age and studied trends like preferences for career satisfaction over pay, but also associated with other attitudes.  For instance, there is an impression that millennials feel more entitled to things and are less hardworking than previous generations.

My piece draws heavily on personal information that I don’t feel like sharing publically here, but here are a few lines that I thought were vague and humourous enough to share:

“She’s living at home and has a meagre monthly income.  Despite that, you’ll find her purchasing presents for her family and friends’ birthdays in a carefree manner, spontaneously going out for drinks and food with friends on the weekends, and occasionally deeming a $5 cappuccino worth it for a 3-hour work block in a hip café where all comfort for patrons has been sacrificed for “aesthetically pleasing” faux-naturally-shaped wood tables and oddly-shaped stools.  As if public libraries didn’t exist.”

“She’ll be damned if she buys avocadoes for avocado toast, but she’ll be doubly damned if she didn’t snatch up any opportunity to hint to her mum that she adores the combination, in order to prompt her mum to bring avocadoes home in the next grocery run and feed her unabashed love for avocado toast.”

It was fun writing this piece. I usually like to distance myself with the negative stereotype of millennials, but I do display some of those traits.  By skewing my actions towards that end, I reconciled with the reality that I do fall into that stereotype in various ways.

A lot of my writing lately has been about processing things.  I’ve found writing a helpful way of overcoming difficulties.  I hope you are enjoying the ride as it goes.

 

Leave a comment